*

Hitt og þetta 8. febrúar 2006

EasyJet Founder Repeats Sale Position - With Caveat

LONDON (Dow Jones)--EasyJet PLC (EZJ.LN) founder Stelios Haji-Iannou has repeated his position that he'd be willing to sell his stake in the budget carrier at the right price.

However in comments broadcast on BBC Radio he indicated that this price may be above that which any buyer is prepared to pay.

"Every asset has its price," Haji-Iannou said. However he indicated that because of his "connection" with the company his price may be above that of any buyer.

(MORE TO FOLLOW) Dow Jones Newswires

February 07, 2006 02:50 ET (07:50 GMT)

Copyright (c) 2006 Dow Jones & Company, Inc.


7 Feb 2006 07:53 GMT DJ EasyJet Founder Repeats Sale Position - With Caveat -2-

Speculation in the company was ignited last year when Iceland's FL Group HF (FL.IC) started building a stake, which now stands around 16%.

Haji-Iannou and his family own about 41% of easyJet.

On the same program, Hannes Smarason, chief executive of FL Group, declined to clarify his group's intentions.

He refused to say whether he was considering a takeover bid or asking for a board seat.

Asked if he would increase FL Group's stake in easyJet, Smarason said: "We have this stake today, we have to see what tomorrow brings."

-By Gren Manuel, Dow Jones Newswires; 44 20 7842 9279; gren.manuel@dowjones.com

(END) Dow Jones Newswires

February 07, 2006 02:53 ET (07:53 GMT)

Copyright (c) 2006 Dow Jones & Company, Inc.